Why should we carry out trial for low speed limit zone?

We suggest carrying out a trial on low speed limit zone of 30km/h in Sham Shui Po pilot area. This trial aims to raise awareness of the public (including pedestrian and drivers) that low speed limit could improve walkability in the area and it has only slight influence on the traffic. Cities such as London, Amsterdam, Paris, New York and Sydney had been implementing this measure in large scale, which highly improve their walkability and road safety.

We take note of the public's concern that the low speed limit zone may cause traffic jam or delay in traffic time. We have chosen to carry out the trial on road sections that are heavily used by pedestrian with a low average vehicular speed. It is anticipated to have limited impact on the traffic.

Some citizen asked, if the average speed of the chosen area is already low where cars already travel at a speed below 30km/h most of the time, why do we bother to set up a low speed limit zone?

Low speed limit can encourage driver to drive at a constant speed and help raise drivers' alertness of the surrounding environment and react in a timely manner. This is found to be an important factor in reducing traffic/pedestrian accident and the severity of pedestrian's injury.

Overseas research shows that there is direct relation between the vehicle speed and the pedestrian's fatality rate in car accidents. When the vehicular speed is reduced to 30km/h from 50km/h, the braking distance also decreased significantly. This in turns reduces the frequency of collision, as well as lowering the fatality rate significantly.

The above factors are effective in improving road safety, especially relevant to the senior citizens and students. Therefore, we hope to carry out trial of low speed limit zone in Sham Shui Po. If the outcome is favourable, the measure is intended to be extended to other areas. We are also considering to carry out trial of low speed limit near the school precinct.

为何要试行低速限制?

我们建议于深水埗区内的路段试行每小时30公里的低速限制。我们期望籍著今次的试验能让市民(行人及驾驶者)意识到,低速限制能提升地区易行度之余,只会对交通带来轻微的影响。国际城市如伦敦、阿姆斯特丹、巴黎、纽约及悉尼已普遍并大范围推行这个措施,大大提高了行人易行度及道路安全。

我们明白市民关注低速限制有机会引致交通挤塞或延长行车时间,我们现选择行人众多但平均车速不高的路段试行,因此只会对交通带来轻微的影响。

另有市民问,既然拣选的路段现时车速已不高,大部分时间低于每小时30公里,为何仍要多此一举?

低速限制能保持车辆速度的均匀性,亦能令驾驶者提高对周边环境的警觉性和反应,这点对减低意外率及行人受伤程度非常重要。

海外研究指出车速及行人于意外时的死亡率有直接关系,当车速由每小时50公里减至每小时30公里,所需要的刹车距离时间大大减少,减少意外频率,行人于意外时的死亡率也会大大降低。

以上的考虑因素尤其适用于长者及学童,能有效提升道路安全,因此我们希望先于深水埗试行低速限制区,如效果良好,会将低速限制区的计划推展至其他地方。我们也会考虑于学校区推行低速限制试验的建议。